Home » News » WEBINAR: The right to resist: on International Humanitarian Law (IHL) & the right to take up arms.

WEBINAR: The right to resist: on International Humanitarian Law (IHL) & the right to take up arms.

  • by

Sunday, March 3, 2024

2PM Amsterdam (CET) | 8AM New York (EST) |  9PM Manila (PHST)

REGISTER: tiny.cc/ihlweb

Join the Friends of the Filipino People in Struggle (FFPS) and the International Association of Democratic Lawyers (IADL), for presentations and open discussion on 

  • Anti-colonial armed resistance and the right to fight for liberation against occupation
  • National liberation movements and their right to fight for self determination

Featuring speakers:

  • Suzanne Adely, President of National Lawyers Guild and bureau member of IADL
  • Edre Olalia, Chair of National Union of People’s Lawyers and interim president of IADL

– Introduction by Robert Reid, Chairperson of FFPS, on the upcoming international people’s tribunal investigating and addressing alleged war crimes and IHL violations committed by the US government  and the Marcos and Duterte regimes.

In light of the ongoing genocide by US supported “Israel” on the Palestinian  people, Suzanne Adely will discuss the right of the Palestinian people to take up arms to resist the settler-colonial violence. As the Filipino people are currently waging a comprehensive revolutionary war of liberation, Edre Olalia will discuss the right of the Filipino people, and all oppressed peoples, to take up arms to fight for liberation. 

There will be an opportunity to ask your questions during the open discussion, after the speakers’ input.   

Introduction to the webinar will be by Robert Reid, chairperson of the Friends of the Filipino People in Struggle, on the upcoming international people’s tribunal; KATARUNGAN: 

The Filipino People vs the US Government and the Marcos and Duterte regimes.

REGISTER: tiny.cc/IHLWEB